The Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame turned the spotlight onto its first three inductees during a ceremony on Saturday, December 17, as a part of the Icons of Wrestling Convention & Fanfest.

The induction took place in Philadelphia, at the 2300 Arena (formerly known as the ECW Arena).

The first three inductees were Debrah Miceli, who wrestled as Madusa and Alundra Blayze, Jazz (Carlene Begnaud), and, posthumously, Gertrude “Luna” Vachon.

Both Madusa and Jazz got a chance to speak to the audience.

The Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame was announced in October 2022 — right here on — and the key people behind it are Angel Orsini, Christopher Annino, “Tex” Green and Gary “Pitbull” Wolf.

More inductions will follow down the road, including Cora Livingston, Mildred Burke, Beverly Shade, Marva Scott, Ethel Johnson, Babs Wingo, Toni Rose & Donna Christanello as a tag team, and Susan Green. Rita Marie Chatterton, the first woman referee in WWF, is also going in. In addition, the entire Gorgeous Ladies of Wrestling (GLOW) promotion will be honored, and Iryna Merleni, who won a gold medal in freestyle at the 2004 Athens Olympics, among countless other titles, will be inducted as well.

TOP PHOTO: On the stage for the first Women’s Wrestling Hall of Fame induction are, left to right, organizers Angel Orsini and Gary “Pitbull” Wolf, unknown, Carlene “Jazz” Begnaud, Luna Vachon’s ex-husband “Gangrel” David Heath, and Madusa/Alundra Blayze. Photo by George Tahinos,