After Night 13 of the G1 Climax tournament only five superstars remain in contention as the competition in A Block was whittled down by exactly half.

Sanada, Zack Sabre Jr., Lance Archer, Will Ospreay and Bad Luck Fale now have no chance of winning this year’s tournament.

Current IWGP Heavyweight Champion, Kazuchika Okada, remains the block leader with 12 points. Kota Ibushi is in second with 10.

Tanahashi is the victim of Ibushi’s Kamigoye knee strike. Photo: NJPW.

Thinking quickly on his feet, Ibusho rolled out of the way of Hiroshi Tanahashi’s High Fly Flow in their match-up. Blood dripping from his mouth Ibushi landed a Bomaye for a two count. A jaw-cracking Kamigoye pinned Tanahashi.

Sanada earned a very emotional win over Kazuchika Okada giving the champ his first loss of the tournament. Sanada got the pin with two moonsaults off the top rope with less than 10 seconds left on the clock in an incredible match, victory.

In other tournament matches:

Kenta versus Bad Luck Fale

Bad Luck Fale scored his second win of the tournament when Kenta is distracted by Jado and rolled up by Fale.

Winner: Bad Luck Fale.

Lance Archer Versus Zack Sabre Jr.

The World’s Most Electrifying Wrestler defeated Lance Archer with a thrilling, stunning, mind-blowing roll-up. Archer gives the referee the EVD Claw.

Winner: Zack Sabre Jr.

Will Ospreay Versus Evil

Evil dumped Ospreay with Everything is Evil.

Winner: Evil.

A Block standings:

.demo { border:1px solid #C0C0C0; border-collapse:collapse; padding:5px; } .demo th { border:1px solid #C0C0C0; padding:5px; background:#F0F0F0; } .demo td { border:1px solid #C0C0C0; padding:5px; }

A Block
 Kazuchika Okada  12
 Kota Ibushi  10
 Kenta  8
 Hiroshi Tanahashi  8
 Evil  8
 Sanada  6
 Zack Sabre Jr.  6
 Lance Archer  4
 Will Ospreay  4
 Bad Luck Fale  4

In other matches:

Bullet Club double-teams Shota Umino. Photo: NJPW.

Toa Henare and Juice Robinson defeated Yota Tsuji and Ren Narita. Henare pinned Tsuji with a uranage.

Yoshi-Hashi, Hirooki Goto and Tomohiro Ishii beat Tomoaki Honma, Jeff Cobb and Toru Yano. Honma tapped to Yoshi-Hashi’s Butterfly Lock.

Los Ingobernables de Japón (Bushi, Shingo Takagi and Tetsuya Naito beat Suzuki-gun (Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Minoru Suzuki and Taichi). Shingo pinned Kanemaru with Made in Japan.

Bullet Club (Chase Owens and Jay White) defeated Shota Umino and Jon Moxley. White put away Umino with Blade Runner.