It was a night of upsets as B Block took centre stage at the G1 Climax 29 tournament.

In a shocker, Juice Robinson defeated Shingo Takagi, who was virtually unstoppable in the Best of the Super Juniors tournament just a few months ago.

Robinson sent Shingo flying into a corner with a Juice Box and connected with a cannonball flattening Shingo. Robinson held onto a Superplex from the top rope to Jackhammer Shingo who refused to be pinned. Shingo halted Pulp Friction with a clothesline. Robinson no sold a Saito Suplex to eventually pin Shingo with two Left Hands of God and Pulp Friction.

Famous for stealing a win any way he can, Toru Yano stole a victory by pulling the official’s shirt over his head, punching Tetsuya Naito in a “sensitive region”, pulling Naito’s shirt over his head and spearing him in their G1 match-up.

Naito gives Yano some of his own medicine. Photo: NJPW.

Jon Moxley, formerly Dean Ambrose in the WWE, started off his G1 tour with a win over Tai-Chi in what was a brawl more than a wrestling match. Moxley even slammed Tai-Chi through a table and then gave him a one-finger salute. Ambrose pinned Taichi with an elevated Deathrider.

In other tournament matches:

Moxley puts Taichi through a table. Photo: NJPW.

Tomohiro Ishii versus Jeff Cobb

Ishii pinned Cobb with a brainbuster after one hell of a slugfest.

Winner: Tomohiro Ishii.

Hirooki Goto versus Jay White

A kick to the face and a GTR stuns Jay White and Gedo.

Winner: Hirooki Goto.

In other matches:

Los Ingobernables de Japón (Bushi, Evil and Sanada) defeated Yuya Uemura, Will Ospreay and Kota Ibushi. Bushi pinned Uemura. Evil damaged Ibushi’s ankle using a ring post to soften him up for their G1 match. Ibushi stood his ground with Evil, tapping his ankle to show it was okay.

Bullet Club (Chase Owens, Bad Luck Fale) beat Suzuki-gun (Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Lance Archer). Kanemaru shoves the official into Fale. He spits his whiskey into his face but Owens pins him with a Package Piledriver.

Karl Fredericks, Clark Connors and Kenta beat Ren Narita, Shota Umino and Hiroshi Tanahashi. Fredericks made Narita tap out.

Suzuki-gun (Minoru Suzuki and Zack Sabre Jr.) defeated Chaos (Yoshi-Hashi and Kazuchika). Sabre Jr. forced Yoshi-Hashi to submit.