The first lead-up card to May’s two night NJPW Wrestling Dontaku 2019 event featured decent wrestling but not much else.

One of nine events meant to push the upcoming Dontaku show, tonight’s card was mostly devoid of any big angles or intriguing happenings.

At the end of Tomoaki Honma, Toru Yano and Togi Makabe’s tag team match with Bullet Club, Yano lived up to his nickname as the “Sublime Master Thief” by running off with all of Bullet Club’s championship belts as Bullet Club stared with disbelief from the ring.

Zack Sabre Jr. delivered a message to Kota Ibushi, the current IWGP Intercontinental Champion, by giving him a Michinoku Driver after their tag team match while Taichi battered Jyushin Thunder Liger and Yoshi-Hashi with his microphone stand.

During the first night of Wrestling Dontaku 2019 on May 3rd, Jeff Cobb will put up the Never Openweight Championship against Taichi and Dragon Lee, the current IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion, will defend the title against Taji Ishimori.

Night two on May 4th will be headlined by IWGP Heavweight Champion Kazuchika Okada defending the championship against Sanada.

Road to Wrestling Dontaku 2019 – Ibaraki Results

Yota Tsuji defeated Yuya Uemura. Uemura tapped out to Tsuji’s Boston Crab.

Toa Henare beat Ren Narita. Henare slammed Narita into oblivion.

Suzuki-gun (El Desperado, Yoshinobu Kanemaru and Minoru Suzuki) defeated Shota Umino, Yuji Nagata and Satoshi Kojima. Suzuki spiked Umino with the Gotch Piledriver.

Bullet Club (Taiji Ishimori, Tanga Loa and Tama Tonga) defeated Tomoaki Honma, Toru Yano and Togi Makabe. Tonga pinned Honma.

Ryusuke Taguchi, Mikey Nicholls, Juice Robinson and Hirooki Goto beat Bullet Club (Hikuleo, Chase Owens, Bad Luck Fale and Jay White). Robinson pinned Hikuleo with Pulp Friction.

Jyushin Thunder Liger, Yoshi-Hashi and Kota Ibushi beat Suzuki-Gun (Taka Michinoku, Taichi and Zack Sabre Jr.). Yoshi-Hashi pinned Taka.

Los Ingobernables de Japón (Shingo Takagi, Bushi, Tetsuya Naito, Evil and Sanada) beat Chaos (Sho, Yoh, Rocky Romero, Tomohiro Ishii and Kazuchika Okada). Naito pinned Romero with Destino.