Another New Japan Cup Quarterfinal match has been set. Hiroshi Tanahashi will be taking on the dazzling Zack Sabre Jr.

On Night Seven, Tanahashi defeated Ryusuke Taguchi in a match billed as the Ace versus the Ass and in a shocker of sorts, Kota Ibushi lost to Zack Sabre Jr.

Taguchi relied on his ankle lock; however, Tanahashi had an escape plan each and every time. Everything went downhill for Taguchi when Tanahashi hit two Slingblades and a Dragon Suplex to advance.

The most entertaining man in pro-wrestling today, Zack Sabre Jr., surprised Ibushi by reversing a Kamigoye into one of his electrifying submission moves to take the next step in the tournament.

In other matches:

Manabu Nakanishi, Yuji Nagata, Satoshi Kojima and Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeated Yota Tsuji, Ren Narita, Shota Umino and Tomoaki Honma. Tenzen made Tsuji submit to the Anaconda Vise. Umino dared to challenge Nagata after the bell.

Mikey Nicholls, Michael Elgin and Juice Robinson defeated Bullet Club (Hikuleo, Chase Owens and Bad Luck Fale). Many fans were cheering for Mikey Nicholls. He is really getting over in New Japan. Nicholls pinned Hikuleo with the Mikey Bomb. Owens attacked Robinson again super kicking him into Dream Land. “You better watch your back, Juice!” said Owens before walking away.

Suzuki-gun (Killer Elite Squad: Davey Boy Smith Jr. and Lance Archer) were victorious over Toa Henare and Togi Makabe. A Killer Bomb pinned Henare.

Los Ingobernables de Japón (Shingo Takagi and Tetsuya Naito) defeated Yoh and Hirooki Goto. Shingo pinned Yoh with a Pumping Bomber and Last of the Dragon.

Los Ingobernables de Japón (Bushi, Evil and Sanada) beat Suzuki-gun (Taka Michinoku, Taichi and Minoru Suzuki). Bushi rolled up Taka. Sanada and Suzuki brawled before heading to their respective locker rooms.

Toru Yano, Tomohiro Ishii and Will Ospreay beat Colt Cabana, Yoshi-Hashi and Kazuchika Okada. Ishii clotheslined Cabana. Yano rolled Cabana up.

The winner of the New Japan Cup will wrestle IWGP Heavyweight Champion Jay White for the title at the G1 Supercard at Madison Square Garden on April 6th.